Premier League clubs banned from signing international under-18 players

The official Premier League match ball with the logo on the Liverpool first team home shirt on May 4, 2020 in Manchester, England (Photo by Visionhaus)

Premier League and English Football League clubs have been banned from signing international under-18 players under new Brexit transitional rules.

The Football Association approved these rules with both leagues will be limited to signing no more than three players under the age of 21 in any single transfer window, meaning no more than six per season.

The move is an attempt to produce homegrown talent within the professional leagues.

A joint-statement released by The Football Association, Premier League and EFL:

“Post Brexit, clubs will not be able to sign players freely from the EU. Players from EU countries who want to play in the Premier League or EFL will be required to gain a GBE, like all other overseas players without the right to work in the UK.”

“In the Premier League, the number of overseas U21 players a club can sign will be limited to three in the January transfer window and six per season moving forwards. This enables the recruitment of the best players from around the world to train and play together with homegrown talent.”

“Under Fifa’s rules, the UK’s exit from the EU will also mean that clubs will not be able to sign players from overseas until they are 18.”

Leave a Reply